Our Team


Tarik Benmarhnia, PhD

Associate Professor 
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
UC, San Diego

Office: MESOM 8880 Biological Grade #243
Email: tbenmarhnia@ucsd.edu
Website: benmarhniaresearch.ucsd.edu
Publications: Google Scholar
Twitter: @tbenmarhnia

ImageImage
Tarik Benmarhnia is an environmental epidemiologist with a joint appointment at the University of California San Diego’s Scripps Institution of Oceanography and School of Medicine. He finished his PhD in epidemiology jointly from the University of Montreal and Paris Sud and a post-doctoral position at McGill University with the Institute for Health and Social Policy. His work is combining epidemiological methods with environmental and econometric models with a specific focus on health policies and environmental justice.

Postdocs



Rosana Aguilera Becker, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: r1aguilerabecker@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Gabriel Carrasco-Escobar, MS
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: gabriel.carrasco@upch.pe
Publications: ResearchGate


Chen Chen, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: chen.chen.cc2437@yale.edu


Katie Crist, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: kcrist@eng.ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Anna Dimitrova, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: dimitroa@iiasa.ac.at
Publications: ResearchGate


Michael Garber, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: Michael.Garber@colostate.edu


Caitlin Jones-Ngo, PhD, MS
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: cgjones@ucdavis.edu


Sam Kaplan, MD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: s2kaplan@health.ucsd.edu


Nasser Laouali, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: alaoualimaha@umass.edu


Noemie Letellier, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: nletellier@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


François Rerolle, PhD, MS
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: rerollefrancois@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate

Grad Students



Jennifer Bailey, MAS
PhD Student

E-mail: jlbailey@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Michael Cheung, BA
PhD Student

E-mail: mwcheung@health.ucsd.edu


Arnab Dey, MBA
PhD Student

E-mail: arnabxdey@gmail.com
Publications: Google Scholar


Emma Lasky, BA
MPH Candidate

E-mail: elasky@berkeley.edu


Allan Ndovu
Medical Student

E-mail: Allan.Ndovu@ucsf.edu


Emmet Norris, BA
PhD Student

E-mail: ednorris@ucsd.edu


Anais Teyton, MPH
PhD Student

E-mail: at4109@nyu.edu
Publications: ResearchGate

Staff & Undergrad Researchers



Anusha Goswami
Undergrad Researcher

E-mail: agoswami@ucsd.edu


Sally Guan
Research Staff

E-mail: saguan@ucsd.edu


Maren Hale, MAS 
Lab Manager

E-mail: m1hale@ucsd.edu


Andrew Willmore
Data Manager and Researcher

E-mail: awillmore@ucsd.edu

Alumni



Anna Alari, PhD
Former Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: anna.alari@iplesp.upmc.fr
Publications: ResearchGate


Pargoal Arab, MAS
Former Masters student

E-mail: parab@ucsd.edu


Blanche Berneron
Former Masters Student

E-mail: blanche.berneron@gmail.com


Rachel Darling, BS
Former Research Staff

E-mail: rtdarlin@ucsd.edu


Liz Duran, MS
Former Masters Student

E-mail: eaduran@ucsd.edu


Kristen Hansen, BA
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: k1hansen@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Pedro Kremer, PhD, MD, MS, MPH
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: pkremer@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Rey Lautenschlager, BS
Former Research Staff

E-mail: rlautens@ucsd.edu


Sindana Ilango, PhD, MPH
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: silango@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Nana Luo, PhD
Former Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: nluo@ucsd.edu


Sara McElroy, PhD, MS
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: s1mcelroy@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Erika Moreno, MAS
Former Masters Student

E-mail: evmoreno@ucsd.edu


Andrew Nguyen, BS
Former Research Assistant

E-mail: avn021@ucsd.edu


Jenny Nguyen, BS 
Former Research Staff

E-mail: jennynguyen0514@gmail.com


Kaitlyn Nichols
Former Research Staff

E-mail: knhill@ucsd.edu


Emilie Schwarz, BS
Former MPH Student

E-mail: emilie.schwarz@edu.ehesp.fr


Lara Schwarz, PhD, MPH
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: laranschwarz@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate


Paige Sheridan, PhD, MPH
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: paigesheridan23@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate


Marinelle Villanueva, BS
Former Research Fellow

E-mail: msvillan@ucsd.edu


Steven Zamora, MPH
Former Research Staff

E-mail: s1zamora@eng.ucsd.edu

Past Visiting Scholars


  • Nelson Bernal Davalos – Visiting from University of Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil (November 2019)
  • Emmanuelle Cadot, PhD – Visiting from Institute of Research for Development, Montpellier, France (July 2019)