Our Team


Tarik Benmarhnia, PhD

Associate Professor 
Hebert Wertheim School of Public Health and Human Longevity Science & Scripps Institution of Oceanography
UC, San Diego

Office: MESOM 8880 Biological Grade #243
Email: tbenmarhnia@ucsd.edu
Website: benmarhniaresearch.ucsd.edu
Publications: Google Scholar
Twitter: @tbenmarhnia

ImageImage
Tarik Benmarhnia is an environmental epidemiologist with a joint appointment at the University of California San Diego’s Scripps institution of Oceanography and School of Medicine. He finished his PhD in epidemiology jointly from the University of Montreal and Paris Sud and a post-doctoral position at McGill University with the Institute for Health and Social Policy. His work is combining epidemiological methods with environmental and econometric models with a specific focus on health policies and environmental justice.

Postdocs



Rosana Aguilera Becker, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: r1aguilerabecker@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Katie Crist, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: kcrist@eng.ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Noemie Letellier, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: nletellier@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Chen Chen, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: chen.chen.cc2437@yale.edu


Anna Dimitrova, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: dimitroa@iiasa.ac.at
Publications: ResearchGate


Nana Luo, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: nluo@ucsd.edu


Nasser Laouali, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: alaoualimaha@umass.edu

Grad Students



Anais Teyton, MPH
PhD student

E-mail: at4109@nyu.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Gabriel Carrasco-Escobar, MS
PhD student

E-mail: gabriel.carrasco@upch.pe
Publications: ResearchGate


Liz Duran, BS
Masters Student

E-mail: eaduran@ucsd.edu


Kristen Hansen, BA
PhD Student

E-mail: k1hansen@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Lara Schwarz, MPH
PhD student

E-mail: laranschwarz@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate

Research Staff



Marinelle Villanueva
Research Fellow

E-mail: msvillan@ucsd.edu


Steven Zamora, MPH
Research Staff

E-mail: s1zamora@eng.ucsd.edu

Alumni



Paige Sheridan, MPH
PhD Candidate

E-mail: paigesheridan23@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate


Sara McElroy, MS
PhD Candidate

E-mail: s1mcelroy@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Pedro Kremer,  MD, MS, MPH
PhD Candidate

E-mail: pkremer@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Andrew Nguyen, BS
Research Assistant

E-mail: avn021@ucsd.edu


Pargoal Arab, BS
Master student

E-mail: parab@ucsd.edu


Anna Alari, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: anna.alari@iplesp.upmc.fr
Publications: ResearchGate


Sindana Ilango, MPH, PhD
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: silango@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Maren Hale, MAS
Former Masters Student

E-mail: mlhale@ucsd.edu


Erika Moreno, MAS
Former Masters Student

E-mail: evmoreno@ucsd.edu

Visiting Scholars


  • Noémie Letellier, PhD - Visiting scholar from French Institute of Health and Medical Research, Montpellier, France (January 2020)
  • Nasser Laouali, PhD - Visiting scholar from French Institute of Health and Medical Research, Paris, France (January 2020)
  • Nelson Bernal Davalos - Visiting scholar from University of Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil (November 2019)
  • Emmanuelle Cadot, PhD - Visiting scholar from Institute of Research for Development, Montpellier, France (July 2019)