Our Team


Tarik Benmarhnia, PhD

Associate Professor 
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
UC, San Diego

Office: MESOM 8880 Biological Grade #243
Email: tbenmarhnia@ucsd.edu
Website: benmarhniaresearch.ucsd.edu
Publications: Google Scholar
Twitter: @tbenmarhnia

ImageImage
Tarik Benmarhnia is an environmental epidemiologist with a joint appointment at the University of California San Diego’s Scripps Institution of Oceanography and School of Medicine. He finished his PhD in epidemiology jointly from the University of Montreal and Paris Sud and a post-doctoral position at McGill University with the Institute for Health and Social Policy. His work is combining epidemiological methods with environmental and econometric models with a specific focus on health policies and environmental justice.

Postdocs



Rosana Aguilera Becker, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: r1aguilerabecker@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Chen Chen, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: chen.chen.cc2437@yale.edu


Katie Crist, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: kcrist@eng.ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Anna Dimitrova, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: dimitroa@iiasa.ac.at
Publications: ResearchGate


Michael Garber, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: Michael.Garber@colostate.edu


Nasser Laouali, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: alaoualimaha@umass.edu


Noemie Letellier, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: nletellier@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate

Grad Students



Jennifer Bailey, MAS
PhD Student

E-mail: jlbailey@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Blanche Berneron
Master's Student

E-mail: blanche.berneron@gmail.com


Gabriel Carrasco-Escobar, MS
PhD Candidate

E-mail: gabriel.carrasco@upch.pe
Publications: ResearchGate


Kristen Hansen, BA
PhD Candidate

E-mail: k1hansen@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Emma Lasky, BA
MPH Candidate

E-mail: elasky@berkeley.edu


Allan Ndovu
Medical Student

E-mail: Allan.Ndovu@ucsf.edu


Emmet Norris, BA
PhD Student

E-mail: ednorris@ucsd.edu


Lara Schwarz, MPH
PhD Candidate

E-mail: laranschwarz@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate


Anais Teyton, MPH
PhD Student

E-mail: at4109@nyu.edu
Publications: ResearchGate

Research Staff



Maren Hale, MAS 
Research Staff

E-mail: mlhale@ucsd.edu


Kaitlyn Nichols
Research Staff

E-mail: knhill@ucsd.edu


Jenny Nguyen 
Research Staff

E-mail: jtn004@ucsd.edu

Alumni



Anna Alari, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: anna.alari@iplesp.upmc.fr
Publications: ResearchGate


Pargoal Arab, BS
Master student

E-mail: parab@ucsd.edu


Rachel Darling, BS
Former Research Staff

E-mail: rtdarlin@ucsd.edu


Liz Duran, BS
Former Masters Student

E-mail: eaduran@ucsd.edu


Pedro Kremer,  MD, MS, MPH
PhD Candidate

E-mail: pkremer@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Rey Lautenschlager
Former Research Staff

E-mail: rlautens@ucsd.edu


Sindana Ilango, MPH, PhD
Former PhD Candidate

E-mail: silango@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Nana Luo, PhD
Former Postdoctoral Scholar

E-mail: nluo@ucsd.edu


Sara McElroy, MS
PhD Candidate

E-mail: s1mcelroy@ucsd.edu
Publications: ResearchGate


Erika Moreno, MAS
Former Masters Student

E-mail: evmoreno@ucsd.edu


Andrew Nguyen, BS
Research Assistant

E-mail: avn021@ucsd.edu


Paige Sheridan, MPH
PhD Candidate

E-mail: paigesheridan23@gmail.com
Publications: ResearchGate


Marinelle Villanueva, BS
Former Research Fellow

E-mail: msvillan@ucsd.edu


Steven Zamora, MPH
Former Research Staff

E-mail: s1zamora@eng.ucsd.edu

Visiting Scholars


  • Noémie Letellier, PhD - Visiting scholar from French Institute of Health and Medical Research, Montpellier, France (January 2020)
  • Nasser Laouali, PhD - Visiting scholar from French Institute of Health and Medical Research, Paris, France (January 2020)
  • Nelson Bernal Davalos - Visiting scholar from University of Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil (November 2019)
  • Emmanuelle Cadot, PhD - Visiting scholar from Institute of Research for Development, Montpellier, France (July 2019)